Depths of the Ocean

We recently listened to a sermon by Graham Cook and he made this profound, wise statement. 

 

When you know who you are then you know how you are suppose to live.

Our identity is crucial to our being. Our identity defines how we are in the world, our calling, and our place in the Kingdom of God. Graham shared two questions in relation to our identity.

  • Who we are on Earth? 
  • How we are known in Heaven? 

Heaven is the place where God’s glory is always being praised, worshiped, and glorified. We are in heaven right now. How? Because we have Jesus who is in us and is also sitting at the right hand of God. So, we are impacting heaven even though we are here on Earth. But honestly, how often are we living with that authority in our minds? Do you wake up in the morning and say ” I have all the authority because of Jesus Christ within me and I am with Him in the heavenly realms.” I have to say that I had not until this past week, and let me tell you this is a transformative thought process. 

When your mind is aligned with Jesus you are able to walk out and in your identity through your gifting (s) and your personal calling (paraphrased Cook). This past week, I have walked out in my identity in a way that I have never done before. I have been aligned with Jesus by intimacy in our relationship, which has overflowed my gifting and his calling he placed on my life.

For the first time in my life, there is no question of once I get ______ then I’ll have made it. I have already made it because I am living from my identity not towards it. Knowing your identity erases all worry and doubt and anxiety. Why worry? When you know your identity you know who you are, you know where you are going, and you know whose you are. Troubles will come but the greatest weapon we have against the enemy is our intimacy with God (cook). 

 Hebrews 6:19 ” We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain, where Jesus, who went before us, has entered on our behalf…” 

Image

 

I want to encourage you to process through with him your identity if you aren’t secure about it. Ask Him. He will answer. Then start living from there. 

 

Vision from God…this is for you (you know who you are) and I submit this picture to you. pray about this. 

I got the picture of a person who is on the beach and they are sitting where the shore line and the soft waves are coming, just barely touching them. The waves create only puddles of water around them. The person is disappointed because they are not experiencing the fullness of the ocean. 

Stop flailing your arms in a foot deep of water, and stand up firmly in who he has created you to be. Walk into the depths of the ocean with him. There is way more to discover about him. You have to be willing to get up, so that you can explore the depths of the ocean. 

 

One thought on “Depths of the Ocean

Leave a Reply

