Hopeful Treasure

Image

The newsletter for November will be out on November 5th, so please let me know if you are not receiving it and would like to. My email is on the About tab of this website!

I am in the 7th week of being here in England.

So what am I doing now?

We are getting ready to have an event this weekend for SnowDrop Project. It is going to be great to get Uni students (College aged) involved with our movement. This month I will connecting befrienders, who are volunteers that come along side the individual we are helping and literally just be their friend. This can look like grabbing coffee with them, going to an appointment with them, and/or going to the market with them. So, I am coordinating and managing befrienders.

What will the month of November hold for me?

This weekend Saturday we have a snowdrop event.

This month we are processing the applications of the volunteers who want to be befriender to our clients. I will be going through those applications with the director of snowdrop and accepting about 21 applicants.  Once they accepted we will then connect them with their caseworker. I will then manage those 21 volunteers by monitoring how they are doing and what we can make this area within Snowdrop to make befrienders more effective for both the volunteer and the client.

Image

 This is a snowdrop flower.

What have I been learning spiritually?

In this season, Christ has been teaching me to be incredibly hopeful in Him.

I have recently been going through a sermon series in the book Esther with the Mars Hill (Podcast) Church out of  Seattle, Washington. In the series Mark Driscoll, the lead pastor, talks about how Christ is a better King than King Xerxes was in his reign.

If you look into the history of King Xerxes, he was a king that was the greatest ruler of his time because of power, wealth, his harem, territory, and of course his ability to conquer other armies. One of the most known facts about Xerxes in the ancient times was that he would take his throne into battle. Literally, he would have men carry his throne into battle, and he would sit up on the acropolis, watching his army demolish the enemy. Talk about an image. You are walking into battle and then there is this throne, which in my imagination looks extravagant because I am sure many of these soldiers had never seen anything as extravagant like that before. Do not forget the intimidating factor.

King Xerxes was known as a god of his time and I am sure he thought of himself in that way. He was able to do whatever, whenever, however he wanted. It would be nice to romanticize King Xerxes to think “oh I am sure he was nice to some people or someone in need” In looking at scripture it doesn’t look that way. A little context: King Xerxes has just been convinced to kill all the Jews by Haman. After considering the benefit of killing people what does King Xerxes do?

Esther 3:15, “The couriers went out, spurred on by the king’s command, and the edict was issued in the citadel of Susa. The king and Haman sat down to drink, but the city of Susa was bewildered.” 

King Xerxes was a carbon copy of the enemy. What is important to realize is that we are no different than King Xerxes without the grace of God. The thing is a lot of us do not have the resources like King Xerxes did, but how often do we make our possessions, our glory, our _________ more important than the Lord?

One of character differences between Esther and King Xerxes is that Esther got to a point where her greatest treasure in this life was not her own life but her greatest treasure was God.

Esther 4: 16, “Go, gather together all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my attendants will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish.”

Take a step back. Wait. Think about this. A greater, stronger, more powerful, more gracious, etc. King saved people. Jesus in his saving of people said, “Ill get off my throne because I love them, and I want to rescue them.” We serve a God who is not bounded by his throne. We serve a God who says I’ll show you my heart and in return that shows my glory, my power, and my strength.

Just let the heart of God wash you. I promise you, you will encounter His powerful love and that will become your greatest treasure when you realize the treasures of this world are incomparable to Him being your treasure.

What a great hope is found in Jesus!

Image

Leave a Reply

