Kingdom Culture

My people!

Image

Left to Right: Jessica, Me, & Caitlin (these girls are doing the Serve:Project Middle East)

For the past two weeks I have been at training…. T-minus 3 days! I have had a ton of personal growth, the cultural difference, team building, and Kingdom Community.

The Kingdom Community is where I want to camp out at for this time.

The biggest challenge the Lord showed me was that Kingdom community needs to be vulnerable, in particular we need to share with one another our needs. In our training, I really saw in team building exercises how at different points of our exercises if I would get stressed I would go into “lock down mode” aka as “bat mobile mode”. When “bat mobile mode” would happen I was unable to effectively communicate my needs. I then would become frustrated with my team because they weren’t able to meet my needs. Well of course they can’t even begin to meet my needs when I can’t effectively communicate.

This is so important to learn about myself and for my team to know so they can be able to ask me “Mae, are you in “bat mobile mode”?

The other aspect of Kingdom Culture that I have learned this past week is not thinking individualistic but thinking in a communal mindset. There were certain team building exercises when we worked together we were able to provide for each others needs. There were times when we still weren’t thinking communally & we saw different parts of our entire Serve Teams not have their needs met. This broke my heart so much. There was one team building exercise where a majority of the teams were separated from me and I was unable to meet their needs because of the rules of the activity. I started to cry that night because my heart was so burdened for them, even though it was just an exercise.

In this next season, it is going to be so important for me to make sure that I am thinking communally. The Christ-like and Kingdom Culture is opposite to the culture we live in. Example: When you are on a plane and the stewardess is explaining how to stay safe in case of an emergency, one particular thing they will say is please put on your oxygen mask first and then help the person beside you. This type of culture and attitude is opposite to how the Kingdom of God is set up. While I understand there are safety reasons for why the airlines ask us to do this, I believe the analogy still applies.

Image

Romans 12:10

Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves.

Image

(Preview to the Kingdom Culture)

One thought on “Kingdom Culture

  1. Mae – absolutely loved your recent post. I am thinking of and praying for you as you head out on this journey. May the Lord be with you and keep you. Blessings, Ford

Leave a Reply

